Pargad was a basically a fort build by Shivaji maharaj around 1674, believed to be maintained to overlook the activities of the Portuguese in Goa. The height is 738 meters from sea level. First killedar of this fort was Rayaji Malusare, son of Tanaji Malusare. In 1689 Aurangzebs son Sahajada Muaajam and Khavas Khan tried to conquer this fort, but the brave soldiers with their guerrilla warfare tactis defeted the Mughals. But unfortunately in this war the head of the ordinance(tofkhana) department Vithoji Dharatirtha lost his life.
The (samadhis) Tombs of Vithoji and his wife Tulsabai still can be found on the fort. As per historic scriptures Khem Savant Bhosle (Kudalkar) in 1690 with the help of Mughals tried to conquer the fort. As per Portuguese evidence this date goes to 1701.
During the British rule in spite of no food and other necessities the fort was inhabited by the people there. Britishers later started pension for the chiefs and people of the fort. This money was paid from the Belgaum mamledar kacheri (Treasury).takamaka..
66/76,5th street,Annai Indira Nagar, Near MRTS, Velachery,Chennai-42,Tamilnadu,India
Phone:+91 - 95148 75131
Copyright © 2018 sindhutourism. All rights reserved.